Day 16

Yesterday (day 15), Beth wrote, “Remember, friend: Long-term victory results from many short-term victories that finally collide, forming new habits.” This actually makes me kind of nervous, because I don’t feel like I’ve had many short-term victories over bingeing yet. I mean, every day that I don’t binge is a mini-victory, but for the past two weeks or so it really hasn’t been difficult – I haven’t really wanted to binge. (And if I have, there hasn’t been anything in the house to binge on.)

From prior experience, I know that this state of not wanting to binge is not going to last forever. That’s when it’s going to get hard, and that’s when the short-term victories are really going to mean something – and have the possibility of forming new, better habits.

Until then, I guess, I’ll enjoy the reprieve that God has given me, and try to fortify myself against the difficult times ahead.

Keep me from deceitful ways;
    be gracious to me through your law.
I have chosen the way of truth;
    I have set my heart on your laws.
I hold fast to your statutes, O LORD;
    do not let me be put to shame.
I run in the path of your commands,
    for you have set my heart free.
~Psalms 119:29-32

SDG

Leave a comment